Vermont
Profile Type: Artist
Artist
Daniel M. Holtz

Daniel M. Holtz is a poet, author, illustrator, multimedia producer, and presenter from Vermont. Fans of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky will enjoy his first published book of poetry for children. He careens carelessly from thoughtful to silly to gross and back again, creating a world of characters and ridiculous situations sure to entertain kids and parents alike. Get ready to meet The Humperdink Glumpus of Flattery Heights, Calimyrna Figgie Pie who kept her room like a piggy sty, the menu of Cafe Du Gross where nothing sounds very edible, giant spiders as Christmas trees, and of course a heaping helping of Stinkleberry Pie! The book is filled with hilariously strange illustrations by the author that enhance and expand the poems.

Excerpted Book Reviews

"Oh my word....You're the next Shel Silverstein! These are so fun. We were discussing rhyming words today and I shared a couple poems with my class. They laughed and laughed. They were a hit!!" - Carrie Bridgeman, Teacher of the Year, Kennedy Primary Academy

"For fans of Shel Silverstein or Jack Prelutsky, Stinkleberry Pie is a collection of laugh-out-loud funny poetry complimented with black and white illustrations. The humor (especially poems like "Are You an Artist or a Fartist?") will resonate with elementary-aged children and the inner third-grader inside all grown-ups. The vocabulary is sophisticated, interesting, and descriptive (see "Bronto-Thesaurus"). The use of literary techniques is creative and will inspire young people to write their own poems (like in "Lazy Bones.")" - Barb Novak, Literacy Consultant

Big Words for Little Brains!

In an age where texting and messaging are the preferred form of communication for young people, vocabulary words are becoming an endangered species. Acting as a curator and conservationist, Daniel M. Holtz carefully drops a plethora of tricky words (in context) for curious young minds to consider. Don't be surprised if your child "precariously" slips the words "artfully evasive" into a conversation after a few reads of this book. You might have to look up a few words yourself!

  • Artist

Contact Information

First Name: 
Dan
Job Title/Position: 
Author & Artist & Presenter
Mailing Address: 
34 Buckingham Dr
Colchester, VT 05446
Physical Address: 
34 Buckingham Dr
Colchester, VT 05446
Last Name: 
Holtz
Phone: 
8022494983

About

Profile Type: 
Artist
Primary Discipline: 
Literary Arts - Children's
Additional Disciplines: 
Literary Arts - Poetry
Literary Arts - Publishing
Media - Audio / Sound
Music - Children's
Music - Pop / Rock
Visual/Crafts - Illustration / Drawing
Year Founded: 
2019
Populations Served: 
Families
School Groups
Youth-At-Risk
Institution/Business Type: 
Artist (Individual)
Activities and Services: 
Performance / Concert / Reading
Residency - In School
Workshops / Demonstrations / Master Class
Events Per Year: 
25
Seasons Active: 
Spring
Summer
Fall
Winter
Geographic Reach: 
National

Affiliations and Accomplishments

Professional Associations: 
SCBWI (Society of Childrens Book Writers & Illustrators)

I am a Teaching Artist

Teaching Settings: 
School / University
Subject Areas: 
Arts Integration - Communications
Arts Integration - English Language / Literacy
Design
Literature
Media
Music
Ages Served: 
Elementary School-age
Middle School-age